Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-11-2001, 09:02 AM   #1   [permalink]
ATh
Ex Moderator V.I.P.
 
ATh's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24 Jun 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,982
Send a message via ICQ to ATh
Windows ME, Telstra and frozen pc

Well my sister has midows ME and connects to the web via telstra.

however, she is only on there for a few moments and her pc freezes.

this happens alot, but sometimes doesnt happen (rarely though)


Now i was there thsi evening and took my ISp details over there, and after 3 failed attempts using telstra (all 3 caused the pc to freeze)

i loaded in my account details to a different ISP

and the pc works fine on the web......

i dotn understand how the ISP can be responsible for a pc freezing, i can understand disconnections ect.. but not freezing.

can anyone shed some light on this?

ATh
ATh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2001, 01:26 PM   #2   [permalink]
Nulani
Forum Master
 
Nulani's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16 Dec 2000
Location: Norway.
Posts: 6,840
Send a message via ICQ to Nulani Send a message via AIM to Nulani Send a message via MSN to Nulani Send a message via Yahoo to Nulani
It could be the ISP's sever that sends out some signal the computer for some reason or another freezes from... I think you'd hafta look into that with Telstra. It could also be some noice on the line that simply disrupts the connection, and the computer freezes from the abnormality.
I wouldn't know 'bout all this stuff though .
__________________
Evil is Good.
Evil.
Nulani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2001, 01:46 AM   #3   [permalink]
Ura
Forum Master
 
Ura's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27 Jun 2000
Location: Chowing down on some Evil Pie
Posts: 2,792
I'd say its something with BPA then, does it use its own client software or just Dial up networking?

Last edited by Ura; 18-11-2001 at 01:48 AM.
Ura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2001, 07:32 AM   #4   [permalink]
ATh
Ex Moderator V.I.P.
 
ATh's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24 Jun 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,982
Send a message via ICQ to ATh
dail up network.

nothing fancy either. very odd. but my sister doesnt like telstra anyway so she will probably change isp's


ATh
ATh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2001, 08:01 AM   #5   [permalink]
Ura
Forum Master
 
Ura's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27 Jun 2000
Location: Chowing down on some Evil Pie
Posts: 2,792
You do it several times to be sure its Telstra?
Ura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2001, 08:09 AM   #6   [permalink]
ATh
Ex Moderator V.I.P.
 
ATh's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24 Jun 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,982
Send a message via ICQ to ATh
Not as many as i would like, but my sister is so far away i can only do so much.

I think she will try a month with another isp just to see.


her pc is crap. one of those compaq rubbish things. its running ME with 64mb of ram

and came with a 33k modem and its not old....


ATh
ATh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.